She’s got the D

D for dengue, that is.

After more than a week of cough, cold, fever, diarrhoea, and ingesting more medicine than what people usually ingest in a year, I finally went in for an IV drip and blood test today.

Well, you know what they say about first timer’s luck? Yeah, I’ve certainly struck the jackpot this time.

image
A healthy platelet count is around 150. Mine is less than half, at 72.

Blood pressure, 100/60, an improvement from the 90/60 I got two days ago. Normal blood pressure is around 120/80.

image
And how could I not document my inaugural IV drip with photographic evidence?

I had to be pricked twice (in two different spots! 😷) because the needle the first time around couldn’t fit, so they had to switch to a smaller needle, one usually used on children. 😑

February is the shortest month in the year, and I’ve managed to chalk up a total of 5 doctor’s visits to date already. 😵 Health is wealth, people. Literally, because I’m going broke from all these clinic bills even though I have the nicest doctor in the world who waives fees and gives discounts.

Sigh. It’s times like this you realise how important your health is. The next time I forget this, may the torment of having diarrhoea 18 times in one day be a grim reminder.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll go chug some more water so I don’t end up in the hospital.

2 thoughts on “She’s got the D

  1. Holy crap, was this the one I tweeted “get well soon” to you on twitter? Well, put on a pair of headphones and rest well! I’ve been a little feverish for the past two days too 😱

Leave a Reply

