Too Little, Too Late

Today, I finally got what I have been waiting for. However, it’s simply a case of too little, too late.

They say the longer the wait, the sweeter the reward. In my case, there isn’t even really a reward at all. In fact, I’m not even given what I deserve.

For years, I have given my best. Looking back, it was as though my energy, my time and my effort were all in vain. When someone takes you for granted and is not even the least bit guilty of taking advantage of you, the relationship quickly becomes toxic. The only way to solve this would be to change. You can convince the other party to change, or wait for them to realise their errors and change, or you can be the change you want.

I have chosen to take my fate in my own two hands. There is no point staying back and moping about when it’s obvious that the change would have to come from yourself. Every relationship in life is the same. When you can no longer see the future, it’s time to reevaluate things and decide for yourself what change is needed.

I have decided on the change needed. Things will have to be sacrificed and there will inevitably be turbulence ahead. In spite of that, I know I can no longer hold on to a sinking ship. If I don’t let go, I’ll be going down with it. I don’t intend for that to happen, and so, the day will come soon when I finally let go and swim towards my future.

Leave a Reply

