Bookworm

You know what, I am a bookworm, and I don’t care who knows that. I’ve been a bookworm ever since I was a little kid. Not sure what brought on the interest in books though. For as long as I could remember, I was obsessed with reading. I read in the bathroom, I read in the car, I read in my room, I read when I’m eating and I read everything I could lay my hands on. From product labels, flyers, magazines to books, I devour them all greedily. I think this obsession did do me some good though, aside from the myopia that I got from reading too much in dim lights. T.T

I’m stuck in Kampar. Most of my books are back home in KL, even the new ones I bought a couple of weeks back. I left them there because I couldn’t possibly lug so many heavy books back and forth. I did brought one back to Kampar, but it only lasted me one day as I laid on my bed and finished the whole book in one sitting.

I find the lack of reading materials torturing. And I’m not a fan of e-books either because they give my eyes so much torture when I read for an extended periods of time.

Recently I’ve taken to going to the uni’s library quite often to do research on my assignments. I checked out their fiction section and found it pretty disappointing because the selection was so few. Nevertheless, I think I’ll be paying the library a visit soon to borrow a few books to fill in my time when the assignments aren’t choking me to death. I need some mental stimulation else I’ll turn into one of those students can only speak and write in broken cheena English. *shudders*

p.s. I’ve always wanted to add a “What I’m reading” widget on my sidebar. But then, I always finish my books in a matter of hours, which will make the widget outdated and useless. -__-

9 thoughts on “Bookworm

  1. Well, guess you caught me… I was gonna say try e-books because it is SUPER LIGHT, lol, but you already spoke up against it… too bad, it’s a great alternative. You can try this read-aloud books, don’t even have to use your eyes…. someone will read it right into your ears 😀

  2. wah siao, few hours finish one book @_@
    I can never do that, lol.
    I think the correct term for ‘read-aloud books’ are audio books.
    Never tried one before though.

    What’s your fav genre?

  3. Jerms: Since when???

    Prexus: Well, I just don’t think audio books would appeal the same way to me. I like to actually hold the book in my hands and flip through them, you see. 🙂 I think when I listen to a book instead of reading it, the magic is lost somehow. Or maybe I’m just plain weird. Hahaha.

    Kritz: Haha, some light reads can be finished pretty fast since I don’t have to process as much info lol. I like all kinds of genre! Though I must say that I’m not a big fan of Sci-Fi and books with overly complicated plots and words. I always find that those books are not worth the amount of time I spent trying to decipher the whole thing. Lol.

    I can however, tell you that I’m a big fan of J.K. Rowling. LOL.

    • I think I stopped reading for leisure (other than textbooks, hahah) when I went to post-secondary. It seemed like given I had so many things to do, I just didn’t have the time left to dabble in regular readings. Also, I had to do so much reading for school-related things, it lost its appeal! Nevertheless, I like to read articles/magazine stuff since they don’t take up hours. I suppose you have lots of time on your hands 😛 Maybe you need more homework? HAHA.

  4. woots, same, i dislike sci-fi fantasy-ish stuff.
    too out of this world for me to imagine and make sense out of it.

    but the only ‘light read’ i remember is ps, i love you.
    others … still need time to digest.

Leave a Reply

